REPORT: Re-appointments to the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board

23 October 2024

Background

The current Criminal Injuries Compensation Board (CICB) was established on 1st May 1991 replacing the earlier scheme, which had operated since 1970. Under the current 1990 scheme, the Board may make ex gratia payments of compensation in any case where the applicant or, in the case of an application by a spouse or dependent, the deceased –

- (i) sustained, in the Island or on a Jersey ship, personal injury directly attributable to a crime of violence (including arson or poisoning) or the apprehension or attempted apprehension of an offender or a suspected offender or to the prevention or attempted prevention of an offence or to the giving of help to a police officer who is engaged in any such activity, or
- (ii) sustained personal injury directly attributable to a crime of violence (including arson or poisoning) in respect of which a court in the Island has jurisdiction by virtue of section 686 or 687 of the Merchant Shipping Act 1894 or such enactments as from time to time replace them.

In 2023 the Board received 42 applications, with £2,000 interim awards and £423,553.50 final awards provided in the 27 resolved cases.

The scheme provides that the Minister must appoint the members of the CICB. The board will consist of not more than twelve members, not less than three of whom shall be advocates or solicitors. The Minister shall appoint one of the members who is an advocate or solicitor of not less than five years' standing as Chair of the Board.

The below members extended until the 31st December 2024. JAC guidance recommends a 9 year term limit, and therefore the re-appointments would reflect this.

Re-appointments

Lee Ingram	Appointed as Chair 23/12/16	Re-appointment to 23/12/25
Christopher Hillier	Appointed 23/12/16	Re-appointment to 23/12/25
Linzi Mudge	Appointed 23/12/16	Re-appointment to 23/12/25
Nigel Collier Webb	Appointed 23/12/16	Re-appointment to 23/12/25
Jess Doyle	Appointed 23/04/18	Re-appointment to 23/04/27
Peter Charalambous	Appointed 23/04/18	Re-appointment to 23/04/27